top of page


Funded by the State of California, Valley CERF (Community Economic Resilience Fund) is a 4-County coalition (Fresno, Madera, Tulare, Kings) working together to create a Regional Economic Recovery and Transition Plan. The plan will include strategies for the growth of targeted industries, diversifying the economy, responding to economic shocks, increasing economic equity, and increasing health and environmental equity.  Once the Regional Economic Recovery and Transition Plan is finalized, local communities are eligible for state funds to help implement priority projects included in the plan.


The Valley CERF coalition represents all aspects of inclusive economic and community development in California’s Central San Joaquin Valley.  The coalition is as diverse as the region, yet we share this vision: 


“to foster an inclusive, resilient, and sustainable economy that creates quality jobs and provides equitable economic access to all across the Central San Joaquin Valley.” 


The state’s CERF planning process is the opportunity of a lifetime – to add the capacity and resources that will help us build a regional vision while still serving immediate community needs.  Through a community-driven process grounded in data that challenges biases and invites diverse viewpoints and experiences, we seek to answer this question,


“What will it take to fundamentally transform our region and foster an inclusive, resilient, and sustainable economy?” 


The response to that question will result in an inclusive economic development plan that delivers real, measurable results for the people and communities of the Central San Joaquin Valley.

A photo of a group of people gathered in a gymnasium
A group of people meeting at a table with colorful notes

Regional Convener:


The Central Valley Community Foundation serves as both the Regional Convener and Fiscal Sponsor of the Valley CERF planning process and provides support to local conveners and partners.

Local Conveners:

Fresno County HRTC
Office of Community and Economic Development, Fresno State

Madera County HRTC
United Way of Fresno and Madera Counties

Kings  / Tulare Counties HRTC
The Tulare County Workforce Investment Board

Fresno DRIVE Initiative HRTC
Central Valley Community Foundation

4-County Region:

Fresno, Madera, Tulare, Kings

A graphic image of a 4-county region in California including Madera, Fresno, Kings, and Tulare counties.
bottom of page